Bookmaker review
Smarkets
Smarkets publishes a 2% Standard commission on net profit per market. For most users, that is the practical headline, but it is not the whole cost schedule: Pro is 1% and requires mandatory opt-in above the activity thresholds, while Select is 3% for users with more than GBP 25,000 in net profit over the previous 12 months. The operator terms, commission FAQ and withdrawal FAQ were checked on 12 August 2026.
What works
- Standard commission is 2% on net profit per market
- The official FAQ publishes all three commission tiers and their thresholds
- GBP and EUR withdrawal minimums are documented by payment method
- Official terms identify the Gambling Commission and MGA licence routes
- Every source in this review is machine-checked weekly by our source watch
Watch outs
- Select charges 3% above GBP 25,000 in net profit over 12 months
- Pro requires mandatory opt-in above the published activity thresholds
- Bank Transfer has a higher minimum than the four documented GBP 10 and EUR 10 methods
- Closed-loop rules apply, and some cards are limited to the amount deposited
Key facts
- License
- Gambling Commission account 39173 (GB); Malta Gaming Authority licence MGA/CRP/162/2008 (outside GB)
- Founded
- Not stated
- Headline offer
- No bonus terms were published on the pages we checked on 12 August 2026. Read the live Smarkets site and the terms served in your market before relying on an offer.
- Affiliate link
- Available, marked as sponsored.
Commission: the 2% headline has two important exceptions
Standard commission is 2% on net profit per market, not on every stake. That distinction matters when comparing the headline percentage with the amount charged.
Pro is a mandatory opt-in for users above either activity trigger: more than 1,500 bets or more than GBP 1 million staked per calendar month. Select moves in the other direction, applying 3% to users with more than GBP 25,000 in net profit over the previous 12 months.
| Tier | Commission | Who it applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | 2% | Most users; charged on net profit per market |
| Pro | 1% | Mandatory opt-in above 1,500 bets or GBP 1 million staked per calendar month |
| Select | 3% | More than GBP 25,000 in net profit over the previous 12 months |
Withdrawal limits by method
The withdrawal FAQ uses a closed-loop system, returning money through the deposit method. It also says some card withdrawals are limited to the amount deposited.
The operator's help pages publish method-level minimums but no processing times. The table shows the documented limits; confirm timing on the live help page.
| Method | Minimum withdrawal | Maximum or restriction |
|---|---|---|
| Instant Bank Transfer | GBP 10 / EUR 10 | No maximum published |
| Visa debit | GBP 10 / EUR 10 | No maximum published; some card withdrawals are limited to the amount deposited |
| Neteller | GBP 10 / EUR 10 | No maximum published |
| Skrill | GBP 10 / EUR 10 | No maximum published |
| Bank Transfer | GBP 20 / EUR 20 | Not stated on the help page |
The license depends on the market
The terms identify Smarkets (Malta) Limited, company registration C44795, at The Hedge, Ir-Rampa ta' San Giljan Street, St. Julians, Malta.
For the GB market, the terms give Gambling Commission account 39173. Outside GB, they give Malta Gaming Authority licence MGA/CRP/162/2008. The relevant licence should therefore be read in the context of the market serving the account.
What we have not verified
The pages we checked on 12 August 2026 contained no bonus terms, so this review does not quote a welcome offer. Check the live site and the terms served in your market before relying on a promotion.
The withdrawal FAQ documents limits and the closed-loop rule, not elapsed processing time. It supports a limits comparison, but not a claim that any method pays within a particular number of hours or days.
Smarkets FAQ
What is Smarkets commission?
Standard commission is 2% on net profit per market. Pro is 1% with mandatory opt-in for users above 1,500 bets or GBP 1 million staked per calendar month. Select is 3% for users with more than GBP 25,000 in net profit over the previous 12 months.
Does Smarkets have a premium charge or Select tier?
Smarkets' own FAQ publishes a Select tier rather than treating 2% as an unconditional ceiling. Select charges 3% to users with more than GBP 25,000 in net profit over the previous 12 months.
What are the Smarkets withdrawal times and limits?
The official FAQ publishes limits, not processing times. Instant Bank Transfer, Visa debit, Neteller and Skrill have GBP 10 and EUR 10 minimums with no maximum published; Bank Transfer has GBP 20 and EUR 20 minimums. Withdrawals follow a closed-loop system, and some cards are limited to the amount deposited.
Is Smarkets legit?
The official terms name Smarkets (Malta) Limited and publish Gambling Commission account 39173 for GB and Malta Gaming Authority licence MGA/CRP/162/2008 outside GB. Those are verifiable regulatory facts, but users should still read the terms and licence details served in their own market.
Evidence ledger3 claims behind this review, last checked 12 August 2026View the evidence
- The Smarkets terms name Smarkets (Malta) Limited, company registration C44795, at The Hedge, Ir-Rampa ta' San Giljan Street, St. Julians, Malta. They identify Gambling Commission account 39173 for GB and Malta Gaming Authority licence MGA/CRP/162/2008 outside GB. Primary source (checked 12 August 2026)
- The official commission FAQ publishes Standard at 2% on net profit per market, Pro at 1% with mandatory opt-in above 1,500 bets or GBP 1 million staked per calendar month, and Select at 3% above GBP 25,000 in net profit over the previous 12 months. Primary source (checked 12 August 2026)
- The withdrawal FAQ publishes GBP 10 and EUR 10 minimums without a general maximum for Instant Bank Transfer, Visa debit, Neteller and Skrill, plus GBP 20 and EUR 20 minimums for Bank Transfer. It also describes a closed-loop system and says some cards are limited to the amount deposited. Primary source (checked 12 August 2026)
Every factual claim in this review is tied to a source above. The automatable sources are re-checked weekly by our source watch; when a source changes or disappears, the claim is re-verified or pulled. The full rules are on our methodology page.
More full reviews on HotBookies
- SharkbetX: full review with evidence ledgerFlat 3% commission on net winnings only, with no premium charge.
- BetUS: full review with evidence ledgerPublished rollovers from 10X sports to 40X slots, documented from the operator's own pages.
- Coolbet: full review with evidence ledgerTransparent MGA-licensed operator whose offers change by market: verify your own view.
- EpicBet: full review with evidence ledgerFast in-play product and deep esports coverage under an Anjouan licence.
- Pinnacle: full review with evidence ledgerThe Winners Welcome promise traced to source, with licence and withdrawal rules separated from the gaps.
Ready to sign up?
Check the latest Smarkets terms before you deposit.
Charges, country availability and account terms move often. Use the live page to confirm before committing a deposit.
Visit SmarketsEditorial note
HotBookies earns affiliate revenue when readers sign up through our links. It does not change the scorecard, the verdict, or the flags we raise. Gambling is for adults and is not a source of income. Never gamble with money needed for bills, and use regulator-backed support if gambling is affecting your wellbeing.